Closing Your Wix Account

You can close your Wix account if you're sure you're no longer going to need it. Closing your account is not the same as canceling a Premium plan. If you wish to retain access to your site but cancel your Premium plan, you can do so and continue to use the free version of your site.
Already using the free version?
This article covers all of the steps required to close a Wix Premium account. If you do not have any Premium services in your account, skip directly to step 3.

Step 1 | Remove all Premium plans and services from your account

In order to close a Wix account, the account must have no active services or subscriptions associated with it. If you have active services, you'll need to cancel your subscriptions and wait for them to expire. Alternatively, you can transfer your services to another Wix account.
Choose what you want to do:
Canceling a domain?
When canceling a Wix domain subscription, you must wait until it expires, is past the redemption period, and is no longer registered. Only then can you close your account. This process can take up to 80 days. We recommend setting a reminder in your calendar if you need to wait until your domain is no longer registered. 

Option 1 | Cancel your Premium services

Cancel each service that you have in your account (e.g., Premium plan, domain, mailbox, app) separately.
To cancel your services:
  1. Go to Premium Subscriptions in your Wix account.
  2. Click the Show More icon  next to relevant subscription.
  3. Click Cancel Plan/Domain/Mailbox/App.

Option 2 | Transfer your Premium site and services

When you transfer a Premium site to another account, you can transfer it together with all its connected services. This is a great option if you're trying to merge two Wix accounts or give ownership of your site to someone else.
To transfer your Premium site and services:
  1. Go to your site's dashboard.
  2. Click Site Actions.
  3. Click Transfer Site.
  4. Enter the recipient's email address.
  5. Fill out the Transfer Ownership form (here you can select the additional services you want to transfer).
  6. Click Next.
  7. Review and confirm the transfer details and click Transfer Ownership

Option 3 | Transfer your domain only

You also have the option to transfer your Wix domain without transferring a site. Either transfer your domain to another Wix account or away from Wix entirely.
To transfer your domain:
  1. Go to Domains in your Wix account.
  2. Click the More Actions icon  next to the relevant domain.
  3. Click either Transfer away from Wix or Transfer to a different Wix account.
Note:
Learn more about transferring domains away from Wix or to another Wix account.

Step 2 | Remove any additional domains from your account

If you purchased a domain from Wix, you should cancel or transfer it (as described in step 1). If you connected an external domain, follow the steps below to remove it.

To remove a domain from your account:

  1. Go to Domains in your Wix account.
  2. Click the More Actions icon  next to the relevant domain.
  3. Click Remove from Wix.

Step 3 | Move your sites to Trash

Next, move any remaining sites in your account to Trash. This ensures all your sites are deleted correctly. 

To move your sites to Trash:

  1. Go to your site's dashboard.
  2. Click Site Actions.
  3. Click Move to Trash.
  4. Click Move to Trash to confirm.
  5. Repeat for all remaining sites in your account.


Step 4 | Close your account

Once you've moved your remaining sites to the trash, canceled all existing Premium services and domains, you can close your account. 
Click to Close Your Account.

FAQs

Did this help?

|
Hire a Wix Partner
Get help with your website's design, marketing and small tasks from a professional freelancer or agency.
Start Now