Facebook Ads: FAQs
13 min read
This article answers the most frequently asked questions about Facebook Ads with Wix.
In this article:
Setting Up Your Facebook Ads with Wix Campaign
Why should I use Facebook Ads with Wix?
Running Facebook campaigns takes a lot of time and effort, and is very hard. That's why we decided to build an automatic tool using advanced data science algorithms that makes it easier.
The algorithm runs daily analyses of every change in campaign performance from Facebook and Instagram, combined with the data from your website, creates all live dataset and then uses this data to run unique decision-making models and trend analyses. These in turn create a variety of potential recommended actions and changes. The system then simulates and estimates the effectiveness of each action, and fine-tunes the campaign based on those results. This simulation is used daily to make changes and improve the campaign.
We manage all of the following for you:
- Setting up the Business Manager and pixel
- Choosing the best placement to convert audiences
- Building initial target audiences
- A/B testing
- Testing to create optimized variations of Lookalikes
- Tracking engagement
- Monitoring ad performance daily and making improvements based on data
- Analyzing results of views, visits and sales to calculate campaign efficiency
- Continuous maximization of the ad spend to keep costs per sale low and returns high
- Predicting how changes to the ad will affect the business
- Tracking conversion paths over time per audience
In short, Facebook Ads with Wix is built with millions of data samples, fully integrated with Wix Stores, uses advanced Artificial intelligence (data science), works with Facebook and Instagram and is fully automatic.
Our model is the best in the world for automatic advertising.
What is the full step-by-step process to get my campaign live?
Getting your campaign from set up to live is quick and easy, because the Wix AI does most of the work. Here’s how it works:
- STEP 1: Getting Started
Once you’re ready to try it out, click “Get Started” in the Welcome Screen. You can also schedule a call with a Wix Expert anytime to get help or sales advice.
- STEP 2: Choosing a campaign goal
- You have three options of campaign goal: 'more store orders' for campaigns run with Wix Stores, 'more leads or bookings,' or 'promote a page.' Pick the goal that's right for you. Note: Once you pick a goal, you cannot change it.
- Step 3: Connecting to Facebook
In the connect page, choose to connect to your Facebook business page. Once you’ve done it, an ad preview will be created. This is based on a number of things like the campaign goal you chose, what products you advertise if you have Wix Stores, Meta pixel, Business Manager and more. Keep in mind that you must be the admin of the Facebook Business page in order to connect it. Follow the prompts that come up.
- STEP 4: Your Ad Content
Now you’re ready to set up your ad. In the ad content section, you’ll see an ad already set up for you based on information pulled from your site. The smart algorithm does a full analysis of your website and creates the ad. You can change your ad caption and image at any time, but it’s better to leave them as is, so that Wix’s algorithm can run tests to check how effective these are.
- STEP 5: Target Audience
Next on the list is finding the right audience. The Wix algorithm will take care of this based on its analysis of what’s best for your business. Feel free to make changes to the gender, age range, interests and geographic location but keep in mind that it’s best to stick to the recommended parameters. That way, Wix AI can fully test out what’s best for your ad and how to automatically redefine your audience.
- STEP 6: Budget
Set the budget that best suits your business. The more you spend, the better your chances of reaching more people as your ad will be shown more frequently. The result? More site visits and more purchases of products or services. In this step, take note that your campaign is set to run automatically, renewing your subscription on a monthly basis until you cancel. It’s best to let your campaign run for a couple of months so that the smart algorithm has time to get your valuable data and statistics. You can also change your subscription while a campaign is running. Learn More
- STEP 7: Reviewing Your Ad
Finally, review your ad and make sure it’s ready to launch. Check the budget, audience and creative - you can edit them anytime - and when you’re satisfied, go ahead and launch your campaign.
- STEP 8: Your Ad Will Go Live Soon
Once you’ve completed the checkout process, Wix will submit your ad to Facebook for review. This is a relatively quick process and most ads go live within 72 hours. When your ad is live, you’ll be notified immediately.
And that’s it. In a few seamless steps, all of which take less than 10 minutes to complete, your campaign can be up and running.
How can this campaign help me?
Advertising on Facebook is very rewarding with a lower cost per acquisition than any other channel. It’s fast, increases customer attribution, is very targeted, personalized, and measurable. Plus, Facebook campaigns work on mobile, which means potential customers can see them on any device. But for many businesses who want to use it, setting up, monitoring and optimizing Facebook ad campaigns can be time-consuming and complex.
Facebook Ads with Wix takes the hassle of that process by automating every part of it, from ad creation and set up to consistent testing and optimization. With a cost comparatively lower than any other form of online marketing, and a potential audience reach of 3 million people, most businesses find that they cannot afford to keep their brands off Facebook. And with the work done automatically by the Wix AI, the time investment is just as low as the monetary one.
Can I set a weekly subscription instead of monthly?
Right now, you’re only able to set a monthly subscription for your campaign. The data that the Wix AI gathers to optimize your campaign has to be collected over a period of months, rather than weeks. This is because the algorithm does its best work when data is significant, i.e., when there’s enough of it for the AI to inspect and analyze. The algorithm can then use that data to run unique decision-making models and trend analyses.
What are Dynamic Ads?
Note: Dynamic ads are only available for campaigns run with Wix Stores.
Dynamic ads at first glance, look similar to other ads you may have already seen on Facebook and Instagram. The difference is that rather than displaying just one or some of your online store products at a time, they showcase multiple products within the same template.
Using a sophisticated algorithm, these ads automatically understand who to showcase your products to - potential customers who are most likely to buy your products - and which of your items to feature. The algorithm learns from the way your target audience behaves online and then shows them the most relevant products for them. In this way, they’re really effective at driving more traffic to your online store and boosting your sales.
Where will my ad appear?
Based on your line of business and your visitors’ habits, Wix’s AI algorithm shows your ad to the most relevant potential customers in the most relevant places. The positions and placements in Facebook and Instagram include stories and the main feed.
Who will see my ad?
The Wix algorithm uses data from your Facebook page, Pixel and campaign to define the right audience for you. In the setup stage of your campaign, you can change the target gender, age range, interests and geographic location. When you’re done, the Wix AI can run tests to redefine your audience, all with the end goal of bringing more paying customers to your site.
While your campaign runs, the algorithm will also keep testing your ad with different audiences, including lookalikes (people similar to your current customers), retargets (showing ads to people who have bought from you or interacted with your site) and new audiences who are looking to buy what you sell.
How much does it cost to run a Facebook Ad campaign with Wix?
Facebook Ads with Wix offers 9 flexible subscription plans starting at $79 (USD). Choose a plan at the monthly subscription that suits your business. As Wix AI learns more about your business, your target audience and gets valuable data from your ad, you’ll get recommendations about how to change your subscription so you get maximum ROAS.
Packages are currently available from just $79 to $4999 a month.
What percentage/fee does Wix take?
The subscription you spend on your ad is broken down into 2 parts. The fee Wix takes is just 15%. This gets you access to the full scope of the Wix AI, from setup to running your campaign, optimization, testing and more. The remaining 85% goes to Facebook to run your ads on their platform.
Are there any limitations to the products I can advertise?
Can I advertise product categories instead of choosing products?
Can I change my product images in the ad?
If you're running a campaign with WIx Stores it uses products from your online store. This means any product images in your ad, will be the same as those on the product pages of your website. Any time you want to change the images, you should do it from your Wix Store.
How long does it take for a new campaign to be reviewed by Facebook and go live?
The Facebook review process usually takes around 72 hours. If there is any action to take on your part, we’ll notify you. We’ll also let you know as soon as your campaign goes live.
How many campaigns can I run at once?
Right now, you can only run 1 Facebook Ads with Wix campaign at a time. If you have multiple online stores or bookings services, and want to run a campaign for each, you’ll need to go through the setup process for each.
What is the Meta pixel?
The Meta pixel is code that you place on your website. It collects data that helps track and optimize ads, build targeted audiences for future ads, and remarket to people who have already taken some kind of action on your website.
I have different products that need to be targeted to different audiences. Can I use 1 campaign to do that?
Right now, you can only run 1 campaign per Wix Store or booking service. If you want to advertise products to a very wide target audience, you can still achieve great results because the Wix AI will optimize your campaign - it tests your ad, refines your audience to include new potential customers as well as lookalikes based on who’s bought from you before and retargets existing customers.
I want to advertise COVID-19 (coronavirus) related products, but I'm getting an error. What do I do?
Currently, it's not possible for any campaigns to run on Facebook if they advertise COVID-19 related products, according to Facebook's advertising policies.
This includes products like (but is not limited to):
- COVID-19 (coronavirus) testing kits
- Face masks and face protectors
- Surgical gloves
- COVID-19 medication/treatments
- Anti-coronavirus sanitizers (personal and home-related)
Understanding Your Campaign Dashboard
What is ROAS (Return on Ad Spend)?
The best way to explain ROAS or return on ad spend is with an example:
- If you spent $100 on FB ads and sold $300 worth of products, your ROAS is 300%.
- If you spent $100 on FB ads and sold $50 worth of products, your ROAS is 50%.
ROAS is not your profit (ROI). This is calculated differently. Using the first example, here’s how to calculate your ROI:
If you spent $100 on FB ads and sold $300 worth of products, but made only a $50 profit on each product, your ROI would be calculated as follows:
- 3 products sold = $150
- Your ROAS = 300%
- Your profit (ROI) = 50%
When you use Facebook Ads with Wix, your return on ad spend is automatically calculated for you. Check your campaign dashboard to see how well your campaign is doing, and remember, the Wix AI algorithm is always changing and improving your campaign. This means the results you see show what’s happening in your campaign right now, not what could happen in future.
What's the difference between ad clicks and site visits?
Ad clicks - as the name implies - is the total number of clicks on your ad. This number includes the same person clicking on your ad multiple times. For example, if Jane sees your ad 3 times and clicks on it 3 times, you have a total of 3 clicks.
Site views are counted based on the site visitor's unique digital footprint. They're counted just once per person. So, following from the example above, if Jane visits your site 3 times, it's counted as 1 site visit.
What to Do While Your Campaign Is Running
How often do I need to update my campaign targeting?
Can I edit my ad while it’s running?
Yes, you can edit your campaign any time - including the ad content, audience and budget. When you set up a new campaign, we recommend giving it 2 months to run before you make any changes, so that Wix’s AI can gather info and learn what works best.
Can I pause my campaign and come back to it later?
Yes, it is possible to pause your ad campaign. Any remaining ad spend will be saved until the campaign restarts. When you pause, you will be asked whether or not you want to set a resume date. Depending on the monthly subscription, you may have to purchase a new one if your subscription has expired while the campaign is paused. Learn More
Can I run A/B tests on my ad?
You don’t need to run A/B tests on your ad, since Wix’s AI does it for you. It tests your audiences by creating variations of Lookalikes, engagement and remarketing audiences and measures their potential reach and performance, using data from the business’ Facebook Page, pixel and campaign stats.
I don’t have time to track campaigns! What do I do?
You don’t need to track or optimize your campaign - Wix’s AI does it for you! The AI, which is built on data science principles, effectively runs daily analyses of every change in campaign performance, examines all live data and acts immediately to make the most effective use of the ad spend. It uses this data to run unique decision-making models and trend analyses, which in turn create a variety of potential recommended actions and changes. The system then simulates and estimates the effectiveness of each action, and fine-tunes the campaign based on those results.
In-depth Look at the Wix AI Algorithm
Are all products or services sold on FB & Instagram counted as sales by the Wix AI algorithm?
No, the algorithm only calculates sales based on products sold by your Facebook Ads with Wix campaign. So if you sold 10 products on Facebook but only 4 were the result of clicks on your Facebook Ads with Wix campaign, only those 4 will be counted. We only count the direct results of FB ads algorithm, nothing else.
What if my campaign doesn’t perform?
It takes time for any Facebook Ads campaign to become profitable. Facebook Ads with Wix consistently monitors the rate of improvement to ensure your campaign does perform, and if it doesn’t, we let you know.
As mentioned, campaign success and return on ad spend can take time. We recommend giving the Wix AI at least 2 months to gather data, optimize, test and refine your ad.
As long as a campaign continues to run, Wix’s AI has ways of continually improving it to help it reach positive return on ad spend. The smart algorithm will assess the reasons your campaign may not be getting that, and make recommendations of quick and easy fixes, like:
- Changing the products displayed in your ad
- Editing your ad creative
- Making adjustments to your store or bookings service
- Redefining your target audience
At any time, you can also schedule a call with a Wix Expert who can guide you in improving your campaign, and give you advice on how to get more sales.
What’s the difference between Facebook Ads and a Facebook Shop?
The major difference between Facebook ads and shopping on Facebook is the place you complete the purchase. In the simplest terms, a shop on Facebook is part of the Business Page where shoppers can buy products directly. They can browse a product catalog, see items they want to buy and make payments without leaving the page.
Facebook ads work by promoting the products or services you sell through social media, and getting people to your site where they can browse your catalog, add items to their cart and make payment.
Right now, Facebook Ads with Wix is the best way to sell your products, because it’s integrated with your site, and all of Wix’s products are available to you, including Email Marketing, abandoned cart automations, secure payment systems and more.
If I have a problem, will Wix give me support? Or do I need to contact Facebook?
Wix will give you all the support you need to make your Facebook ad work for you. You can contact a Wix Expert anytime to help you fix campaign issues, or give you advice on how to boost sales.
Isn’t it better for me to create a Facebook Ad campaign myself?
We don’t recommend this option for those with small/medium sized businesses. Creating a campaign on Facebook is something you can do yourself, if you have the knowledge of the platform and the time to continuously monitor and optimize. We know that most business owners - especially those who are already stretched for time - simply don’t have the resources to do it.
That’s exactly why the Wix AI was developed, to give you results without a huge investment of time and effort. Our smart engine runs 24/7 on your campaign, creating hundreds of permutations and finding the most effective ones. It refines your audience, runs tests continuously and optimizes based on the data it gets. It’s like having a marketing manager working for you, day and night, doing all of the work so that you have time to focus on your business.
Is there a general rule for how long a campaign should be?
Avoiding customer fatigue is an important part of advertising on Facebook and Instagram, but with the Wix AI doing all of the monitoring and optimization for you, there’s no need to stop your campaign. What we do recommend is changing your ad creative every 3-4 months. That way, the algorithm has time to learn about your audience, create lookalikes and retarget, and test what works best for you.
Will a “marketing in intervals” option be added to FB Ads?
There’s no need to market in intervals, because the Wix AI optimizes daily to show your ads to the right audience. If at any time you want to pause your campaign, for example, when you run out of stock, you can do that, and resume your campaign when you’re ready.
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