Getting started with WixBuild your website and business with Wix. Try using our AI tools to create your website, customize templates, or hire professionals to build or enhance your online presence.
Creating a websiteRead how to use the Wix Editor and manage content on your site. Discover how to protect your visitors' privacy and make your site accessible.
Account & billingReview your account settings, manage your subscriptions and plans and understand your invoices.
Using the Wix mobile appsUse our mobile apps to run your business efficiently on the go and set up a dedicated app for your site members to stay in touch.
Connecting a domainFollow our step-by step guides to learn how to purchase, connect or transfer a domain for your site, and find out how to keep your site’s data secure.
Managing your businessGet tools to grow your business and web presence. Find the right tools for your specific needs, set up online payments and keep track of your site's analytics.
Promoting your siteLearn to make your site more visible promoting it on search engines, sending emails and running paid ads. Improve your online presence with practical tips.
Studio, Partners & EnterpriseGet the most out of your Studio or Enterprise account with advanced features that'll help you work more efficiently.
Need more help?Find solutions for site performance and technical issues, learn about issues we’re working to fix or contact us for help.
placeholder-preview-image
Wix LearnImprove your skills with our courses and tutorials.
Wix BlogGet tips for web design, marketing and more.
SEO Learning HubLearn to increase organic site traffic from search engines.
Website developmentBuild a custom site using our full-stack platform.
placeholder-preview-image
In this article
  • Accepting an invitation to collaborate
  • Viewing your roles and permissions
  • Actions that can’t be performed by collaborators
  • Removing yourself as a collaborator

Roles & Permissions: Information for Site Collaborators

In this article
  • Accepting an invitation to collaborate
  • Viewing your roles and permissions
  • Actions that can’t be performed by collaborators
  • Removing yourself as a collaborator
As a site collaborator, you can edit or manage a site owned by another Wix user. The actions you can perform on the site are determined by your role. Site owners can update your role as your responsibilities change over time. If you no longer wish to be a collaborator, you can remove yourself from the site.
Important:
Make sure you don't make changes in Wix Editor at the same time as someone else. Doing so can cause unexpected behavior in the site or the owner's account. Concurrent editing is only available in the Studio Editor.

Accepting an invitation to collaborate

When a Wix user invites you to collaborate on their site, an invitation is sent to your email address. You can accept the invitation by clicking on the link in the email.

Your invitation link expires 30 days after it's sent. If you can’t find your email invite, check your junk or spam folder. If your invite has expired, ask the site owner to resend your invite.

To accept an invitation:

  1. Open the invitation email in your email account.
  2. Click Accept Invite.
  3. Accept the invitation:

Viewing your roles and permissions

There are many different roles and permissions for collaborators, and site owners can create custom roles to give collaborators tailored access. If you need additional permissions, contact the site owner and ask them to change your role.

To view your role and permissions:

  1. Go to Roles and Permissions in the site’s dashboard.
  2. Locate your name in the list. 
  3. Hover over your role, then click the Information icon ⓘ to view your permissions.
A screenshot of hovering over a collaborator's role to view its permissions.

Actions that can’t be performed by collaborators

Collaborators cannot perform any of the following actions, regardless of their role.
CategoryAction
Site actions
  • Delete sites
  • Duplicate sites
  • Transfer ownership of sites
Premium features
  • Purchase or manage business emails
  • Connect a domain owned by the collaborator
  • Assign/reassign Premium plans
Roles & Permissions
  • Create new custom roles
  • Change permissions of existing custom roles
  • Manage roles
  • Change their own or other collaborators roles
  • Invite or remove other collaborators with additional permissions
Other
  • Access Get Feedback
  • Access any account-wide information
  • Access the Wix Payments Dashboard 
  • Refund transactions via Wix Payments
  • Purchase shipping labels
  • Purchase Shutterstock images
  • Access specific pages in the Editor
  • Access the Online Store app by Ecwid

Removing yourself as a collaborator

You can remove yourself as a collaborator whenever you need to, revoking your site access.
Note:
You cannot remove yourself if your role is Blog Writer or Blog Editor.

To remove your collaborator access:

  1. Go to Roles and Permissions in the site’s dashboard.
  2. Locate your name in the list, and click Leave site.
A screenshot of selecting
  1. Click Leave site.

Helpmate

Hello

Need a bit more guidance?
Unlock personalized helpLog in to get the most out of Helpmate.