Transferring A Copy Of Your Site To Another Wix Account

If you create sites for other people, you can duplicate your sites and transfer the copies to new site owners. The original sites you create stay in your Wix account. Any changes a new site owner makes to a duplicate site won't affect your original site. When you transfer ownership, you can choose to keep your current role to assist the new site owner further. 
Important:
When you duplicate your site, sensitive information such as contacts, orders, invoices are not copied over. Learn more about duplicating your site.

Step 1| Duplicate your site

You can duplicate your site in just a few clicks. Both the original site and copy remain in your account until you transfer the duplicate version.

To duplicate your site:

  1. Go to your site's dashboard.
  2. Click Site Actions.
  3. Click Duplicate Site.
A screenshot of the Wix dashboard. Site Actions is open, and Duplicate Site is highlighted.
  1. Enter a name for the copy.
  2. Click Duplicate.

Step 2| Transfer your duplicate site

When you transfer a duplicate copy of your site, your original site remains in your Wix account.

To transfer your duplicate site:

  1. Go to your duplicate site's dashboard.
  2. Click Site Actions.
  3. Click Transfer Site.
A screenshot of the Wix dashboard. Site Actions is open, and Transfer Site is highlighted.
  1. Enter the new site owner's email address. 
  2. Choose if you want to keep your role after the site transfer.
  3. Choose to create a copy of the site and keep it in your Wix account.
    • Note: You are transferring a duplicate copy of the original site. The original site will still be in your Wix account after you the transfer.
  4. Click Next.
  5. Confirm the details of the site transfer.
  6. Click Transfer Ownership.

Did this help?

|
Hire a Wix Partner
Get help with your website's design, marketing and small tasks from a professional freelancer or agency.
Start Now